01702 558284 ext 6752
Twitter Feed

NLEs - National Leaders Of Education

National leaders of education (NLE) are headteachers of an outstanding school with the ability to support schools in challenging circumstances in addition to leading their own school. The goal of national leaders of education (NLEs) is to increase the leadership capacity of other schools to help raise standards. 

When selected as an NLE, your school will become a national support school (NSS). This recognises the fact that your staff are likely to work alongside you in any support you may provide.

Karen Kerridge - The Appleton School

Karen Kerridge, Headteacher of The Appleton School, was selected as a National Leader of Education in June 2011.  The Appleton School has been recognised by the Government's Specialist Schools and Academies Trust as being placed in the top 20% of schools across the country for value added results.

Dr. Margaret Wilson - The King John School

Margaret Wilson, CEO of the Zenith Multi Academy Trust, was selected as a National Leader of Education in July 2011. She was appointed by her peers to one of the eight Regional Headteacher Boards as well as being on the boards of Pearson Education Limited and Anglia Ruskin University. Margaret received a CBE for services to Education in February 2019.

Simon Harbrow - South Essex Academy Trust

Simon Harbrow is CEO of South Essex Academy Trust, a multi-academy trust comprising of five primary and infant schools, two of which are outstanding, two good and one sponsored school moving from inadequate to RI. He was selected as a National Leader of Education in May 2018. He inspects as both a team member and lead for OFSTED. Westwood Academy has sponsored two failing schools both improving due to his leadership and the capacity of the Trust.